Sweet

After trying for several days to begin the actual detox; today is the day.
Sugar f**king detox.
You’d think someone who seemingly effortlessly gave up smoking cigarettes and started training for a marathon. Could put down the cookies and ice cream just as well.

This is not true and not logical.
Sugar in essence creates the same mental reward response in our brains as a drug addict getting their fix.

From my childhood, I remember constantly getting into trouble for being found hording and consuming spoonful’s of pure white sugar as a snack. I was the kid who ate all the marshmallows from the lucky charms leaving my siblings none. I ate pints of  Duncan Hines frosting, all the ice cream, cinnamon and sugar on toast, pie or cake was not safe with me.
The only reason I’m not 400 pounds is most likely due to filling up so much, on refined sugar that I literally ruined most of my meals.

I’m not quite as bad as I used to be, mostly because I’m an adult and I have the choice not to keep these types of things in the house.

However, I work around food. Part of my job demands me to walk through a bakery. A bakery full of wonderful women colleagues of mine who love for me to sample their treats. They mean well, but they just don’t understand.

How most people respond when they hear sugar detox: “eye roll, head tilt”

It’s not immediately recognized as something that could possibly be taken seriously. It’s almost like hearing someone say they have a “gluten sensitivity”. Which has been proven scientifically to be B.S

Needless to say, it’s been an extreme difficulty. Especially considering the store I work for was, in celebration of national donut day, selling $.25 glazed donuts.

Not only that, but I walked into the breakroom, to grab my healthy and nutritious lunch – only to find a milk crate filled with free, packaged brownies and cookies. Not a thing wrong with them except there happened to be too much ordered for the store to sell.
So naturally, I took 7 packages and put them into my lunchbox like a packrat.

Eventually I came to my senses and was able to throw them away. Because, if I can’t have them, why should someone else. Because somehow, in my sugar addicted mind this was ok.

I’m not proud of the things I’ve admitted about my sugar problem, which is why I have to defeat the beast; starting now.

It’s not only the fact that it tastes so good that makes it difficult. It’s the fact that it is so fundamentally embedded into my psyche as a reward and necessary byproduct for automated joy and instant gratification.

Im irritable, tired, impatient and dreaming about cake frosting while salivating.

This is my day 1

Leave a Reply

