Basic Master Recipe: American Apple Pie

 

img_2270

Starting today, I embark on a mission to bake my way through all of “The Fannie Farmer Baking Book”. With over 800 recipes,  my hands are full.

As cliche as it may seem after books like “Julie and Julia” or, “A Life From Scratch”came to be known and famous in the eyes of the general public, I still feel drawn to this concept. Today I started with Fannies first recipe in the book. An American classic: The Apple Pie. I had a great time following the wisdom of Fannie and walking in her footsteps for an afternoon. I am excited to bake my way through the rest of her timeless classics. Stay tuned!


Dough:
2 1/4 cups flour
1/2 t salt
3/4 C vegetable shortening (room temp)
6-7 T cold water

Apple Filling:

6 or 7 Large, tart, firm apples
3/4 C sugar
1/2 t cinnamon
1/2 t nutmeg
2 T Flour
1/8 t salt
1 T freshly squeezed lemon
2 T butter


Preheat oven to 425.
Prepare pie crust
Prepare apples
Bake 30 minutes – Lower temperature to 350
– Bake another 30 minutes

Remove and cool 20 minutes


 

 

img_2301

6 Replies to “Basic Master Recipe: American Apple Pie”

    1. Thank you. I am looking forward to the adventure. It must be considered that there are some overlapping recipes. For instance, this pie also included the classic pie dough. So there will be a great deal of double doozies. I am going to do my best to finish it in under 3 years. I also work at a bakery full time. It’s not quite feasible to think I’ll bake a one or more of these recipes a day! Thank you for your interest! I’m glad your along for the ride!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

