Woman in the kitchen

Stepping back in time to reminisce on my days as a fancy line cook. I worked in some of the best and worst restaurants on the east coast. From New York City to Boston and even all the way down to Palm Beach. Working for very well renowned chefs, one of which being Daniel Boulud. One of the first restaurants I  worked at, was DB Bistro Moderne, theatre district Manhattan.

I started my very first cooking job at a restaurant called La Voile, on Newburry St. in Boston. After being kicked out of the C.I.A (Culinary Institute of America) for financial reasons and hiding in 1958111_214085295466679_1054449445_nManhattan for months as a vagabond. I made my way up t1175720_150758501799359_1847246794_no Arlington, MA to stay with a close friend.  I got a waitressing job in Copley Square but my heart knew I belonged in the kitchen.  I cooked my way around Boston and Cambridge till NYC called me back. I had gained enough experience (haha, yeah right) to move to the big leagues and become a REAL CHEF! (haha)

I learned most of all, that cooks in manhattan are not like cooks in Boson.They are cruel and cut throat and assume the same from everyone else. After several years and restaurants, I found myself in Palm Beach. Again, working for the world famous Daniel Boulud. Cafe Boulud would be my longest standing and last cooking job.

I didn’t like who I had become as a line chef. I was constantly stressed, angry, and tired. Tired….doesn’t even begin to cover it. I was mentally and physically exhausted.

1545739_228835280658347_7797857797975298136_n
I was tired of competing for an unrealistic goal that I wasn’t even sure that I wanted to reach. I was tired of the fear of the head Chef. I was tired of idolizing food.

I was tired of feeling trapped and tired of the power struggle. Tired of the late nights and the culture of self sacrifice geared towards the super rich.

At the end of the day, its just food. I respect and love the process that goes into a fine plate and the skill involved with preparing it, but I think its best I leave it to those who are willing to suffer for it. Those who can’t live without it. Thats passion, and its beautiful.

For now I am perfectly at peace and balanced being a day time baker, night time blogger and full time friend. I love my life and feel full and alive.

I hope that you have to courage to fight for what you love and to let go of what does not serve you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

