Potato Bread

This is my favorite bread to bake and the most popular in my house. This is the bread I always have on hand. Since starting to bake my own bread 6 months ago, I seldom buy store-bought.

Bread baking can be intimidating, but it doesn’t have to be. Just be careful and take the time think about each step. Don’t expect perfect results if you’re a beginner, but DONT GIVE UP.

Its important to me that I bake my own bread, number one being because I love the process. I love that most breads have a few simple ingredients, yet result in magic that can sustain life. I believe that as little additives as possible in bread and food, helps our minds and bodies function better, and makes us feel better. I believe that the more we can learn to sustain ourselves the better off we are.

I hope you enjoy baking and eating this bread as much as I do.

THE TOOLS
1 Fork
3 mixing bowls (1 LG, 1 MD, 1SM)
1 Knife
2 9X5 Loaf pans
1 probe thermometer

THE RECIPE
1 T Instant Yeast
1/2 cup sugar (optional)
1 1/4 cup lukewarm water
3/4 cup soft butter
2 1/2 t salt
2 LG eggs
1 cup mashed potato
6 1/2 cups All purpose flour

 

This bread will freeze well. Wrap it tightly in plastic wrap and place in freezer. When ready to use, thaw at room temperature.

To store and care for your bread, wrap it loosely in a plastic bag and then inside tupperware.

 

 

2 Replies to “Potato Bread”

Leave a Reply

