Summer Zuccini & Pepper Relish

This is a great recipe for anyone who has too much and too large of zucchini coming out of their gardens. I happen to be a member of a wonderful CSA where I procure most of my vegetables due to a move and lack of time this season.

The farm is here in Middletown, CT. They are called Yellow House Farm. A lovely family practicing organic farming techniques. Its small enough of a CSA where I still get to visit and speak with the farmer Jennifer each week. She and her family have several acres of farmland and work together to sell wonderful fresh, beautiful vegetables to several farmers markets and CSA customers each week. I look forward to the years to come and watching her farm grow! Check em out 

That being said, I was lucky enough to enjoy some of the enormous zucchini that Jennifer propagated & I  will later have to post about my delicious zucchini bread and bars, but for now I am excited to tell you about this amazing relish.

unnamed

After temporarily exhausting my love of zucchini bread and muffins I was thrilled when I came across a brilliant idea “zucchini Relish”. Ive been busy canning all summer, so I had most of the jars I needed. I figured why not give it a go, my friends and family are sure to thank me when christmas comes around ….and I’m sure to thank myself for the delicious relish when the snow starts to fall. I hope you enjoy as much as I did!

 

THE TOOLS
1 Large Mixing Bowl
1 Cheese Grater
1 Large pot at least 5 quarts
7-10 1/2 pint mason jars with sealable lids
Tongs

THE RECIPE

1 Giant Zucchini (or 10 cups shredded zucchini)
2 or 3 very hot peppers (I used Thai super chillis, but anything will do)
2 Green or red Bell peppers
5 T kosher salt
6 cups  white sugar
2T cornstarch
3/4 t ground turmeric
2 1/2 cup white distilled vinegar

Follow the steps that appear over the photos, after your half hour of simmering is finished, use a slotted spoon to fill your mason jars. If you so choose, follow standard canning procedure to seal your jars.

IMG_1104.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

